2011 Best New Band in the World re-cap and more!


Woah, it has been a while! A couple of things has happened since my last post, so let me catch you up. Although I have had my hands full with school recently, I decided to kick off Finals Week by attending the MTV Iggy’s 2011 Best New Band in the World concert. (I know, I know. Productive.)

As you may have heard, on December 12th, 2NE1, who was announced MTV Iggy’s Best New Band of 2011, performed at MTV studio in Times Square. Several weeks ago, MTV Iggy held an online contest to give New York fans a chance to see the girls perform live. There was a limit on how many people could win and for the first time I won something.

The ticket admitted me and one guest so I brought along one of my friends this time. Around 12:30PM we met up and made our way to Time Square to wait on line. I just came from taking a final so by the time I got there the line covered 7th avenue and reached all the way down to 8th! Though, the line was extremely organized and time went by pretty fast. Before I knew it I was getting my wrist band and entering the building around 3:00PM.

The event started with 2NE1 interview with Sway Calloway in the classic studio and was followed by performances by runner ups: La Vida BohèmeGyptian and Yuna. I don’t want to go into too much detail because you can watch the entire live stream here: http://live.mtviggy.com/best-new-band-concert/. ( Or you proabaly already saw it)

So! Around 6:00PM the ladies of the night came out and everyone went crazy at the sound of their debut song, Fire. Let me first just say that they are gorgeous-seriously. (They definitely melted a lot of hearts that night.) The girls then performed Can’t Nobody , Lonely  and finally I Am the Best. It was great to see them live, after watching them on Youtube for years, it was great to see them up and close.

At the end the girls were finally crowned by selected fans (above photo) as MTV Iggy’s 2011 Best New Band in the World. After so many hours of standing IN THE NEW YORK COLD, being shoved, listeing to annoying fans, getting elbowed on the head and getting into an argument…I can say it was worth it. It was a great night!

Hwaiting!

15 Responses to 2011 Best New Band in the World re-cap and more!

  1. Wickeddreamer says:

    I’m so glad you had fun XD
    If anyone deserved to win it is you (after your hundreds of 2NE1 fashion posts)!
    Btw would you know where Bom’s dress and Dara’s jeans are from?

  2. Kimi says:

    They look amazing. So happy for them! They deserve all the recognition in the world! They are seriously going to take over the world

  3. Heids says:

    HOLY CRAP! You are so luck to be able to win this. I agree with Wickeddreamer. I think it’s hilarious that you would win it, because you totally deserve this. I wish I lived in New York…

  4. Nanciie says:

    I really love their outfits for this event. It is toned down compared to their every wild outfits. The bright red is a perfect choice! Congrats by the way. Thanks for sharing your story.

  5. Lala says:

    They have these exact outfits in red, black, and white. I think the white are my favorite though with the red a close second. I watched this live from the comfort of my bedroom where I cheered and clapped like an idiot all by myself (forever alone!) Also felt a little bit of second hand embarrassment because of some of the fans, lol. Am glad that being able to experience 2ne1 live overrides the experience of the argument and getting hit on the head.

  6. mandyduong says:

    i heart 2NE1!! fighting !~

  7. Heids says:

    OH man, I love Park Bom’s hair. I just realised how amazing it is. But it is waay toned down from what they usually wear, is it to appeal to western audiences? Hmmm…

  8. i couldnt go because of class, but i heard it was awesome. They did a great performance!

  9. randomshizzzbroskis says:

    I wish i wouldve been there *goes in the corner and sobs*…

  10. takemysmile. says:

    I love what they’re wearing in that photo! Red and black looks awesome on all of them

  11. randomshizzzbroskis says:

    I. Need. Daras. Jeans.

  12. Heids says:

    I need CL’s jacket!!

  13. Laura says:

    Wish I could have been there. YES, 2NE1 is THE BEST!! Our girls are so beautiful & talented. They deserve only the best! 2NE1 hwaiting!

  14. Zee says:

    You’re so lucky that you got to be there! I’m so glad 2NE1 is getting the recognition they deserve!

  15. babychristopolis says:

    wow so lucky! nicee:)
    bom looks so chic with her flaming red hair
    love 2NE1! is the best.. woo

Leave a Reply

