Popular Korean hair trends of 2011


Remember, at the beginning of the year I made a post dedicated to Korean Hair trends to look out for in 2011? Well, now that we are half way through 2011 I thought it was needed for an update with some new killer hair trends to hit the stages so far.

I don’t know about you, but I need a new ‘do and some inspiration. I’ve had ombre hair for about 6-7 months(?), definitely time for change. If your on the same boat as me, I hope this helps.

Romantic Bang

The blunt bang is out and the romantic bang is in! Romantic bangs are fringe with a flair at the end. So far we have seen stars making their comebacks based off of retro concepts, so it’s no surprise to see the romantic look back in trend.

We’ve seen the look in SNSD‘s Gee (japanese version) & Hoot, Secret‘s Shy boy and Orange Caramel‘s Magic girl & Aing. Wanna get the look? Youtube makeup guru, CL2425 shows you how too!

Ombre hair

Ombre hair is a graduated dye job from dark to light (or vice versa). It tends to look like your roots grew in and you haven’t bothered to do a touch up in…a year. Though I think it is a totally cool and modern look.  

It was a hit mid-late 2010 and has still been very popular! f(x) sported the trend for their Nu Abo promotions, SNSD‘s Taeyeon rocked the look for her promotions in Japan and Dal Shabet‘s Subin during their Pink Rocket promotions.

Bold colors

So many idols have experimented with bleach to achieve some sort of blonde shade. There is always at least one idol per group with bleach Blonde hair. Always. Though only a few take it to the next level and add a bold color.

Serri of Dal Shabet rocked hot pink hair for her Pink Rocket promotions, Secret‘s Ji Eun tried many shades of blue for her solo promotions, Park Bom rocked her red locks long after 2NE1‘s 1st album promotions and fellow Dal Shabet member Vicki rocked bold blue and pink streaks in her hair for her promotions as well.

Will update more soon!

Hwaiting!

10 Responses to Popular Korean hair trends of 2011

  1. Etrnlsuns says:

    more of these types of posts please! ❤

  2. mandyduong says:

    i think Dara deserves a spot… ahah

  3. i really think CL deserves to have a spot with her yellow hair and then black streeks in it that was amazing! i want to get my hair done like that!

  4. I really love the ombre hair and the bold hair colors… ❤ their so pretty on some of the idols ❤

  5. Wickeddreamer says:

    I want to dye my hair like Park Bom >.<

  6. Heids says:

    sigh… I used to have romantic bangs, but then they just got to be a pain in the butt. And my hair likes to make my life miserable, so half the time it just curls the other way, and it looks like a moustache! Gah! I really like the ombre hair, but i”m afraid I’ll just end up ruining my hair and have split ends for the rest of my life. Now Park Bom’s hair… mmhmmm

  7. mandyduong says:

    i think all of 2NE1 needs to be here lollllllllllllll

  8. Zee says:

    I have my hair like Bom’s now, but I was thinking about dying it that hot pink colour.

  9. babychristopolis says:

    i had ombre hair for half a yr (last yr)
    semi-romantic bang a year before
    bold color…. hmm i dont know if i can rock it but i really want to dye my hair blonde but like jessica’s from snsd. or orange like park bom

Leave a Reply

